Of Monsters And Men

If I could pick any band in the world to write like, it would be Of Monsters And Men. The band is made up of six people, and everyone in it is from Iceland. That alone would be enough to interest me, but there’s much more to the band than where they are from.
So far, they have released one album called My Head Is An Animal. In my personal opinion, the album is fantastic! I love the majority of the songs, and there are no tracks that I just don’t like. Every single one is well-written and well-performed.
I commented that if I could choose to write like any band, I would write like this one. Their songs are incredibly original in every aspect. I’ve never heard anyone with a voice as distinctive as those of the two main singers: Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir and Ragnar “Raggi” Þórhallsson (see, I told you they were from Iceland). The ideas they sing about are as fresh and fascinating as their voices and musical style. Somehow, they manage to write dark lyrics while making their songs sound upbeat and enjoyable. For example, in one of my favorite songs on the album, “Little Talks”, the lyrics paint a story of a couple who end up distanced because the woman goes insane. The brilliance in the song, however, is found in the indirect way that her insanity is revealed. You are never told straight-out that she loses her mind, but it is constantly implied.
The thing is, everything I say about their music is what I dream of people saying about my writing. I want my voice to be distinctive and fresh; my words to be striking and powerful, but in a way that prods readers to have to think. So, there you have it. Of Monsters And Men is a wonderful band, and I want to write like they make music.
End of book quote: “But wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the Forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.” —The House At Pooh Corner by A. A. Milne

