My entire life has been lived without any sort of musical talent. I’ve never played an instrument (for more than a week anyway. I technically took flute lessons for about two hours and I can blow into a recorder…the music that comes out though is less than satisfactory), I can’t sing, I don’t listen to popular music or really any kind of music except Christian bands, I’m not in a band, and I have no desire to be in one…ever. You get the point. (On a side note, I did learn to play part of the “Ode to Joy”–maybe–last summer when my mom required us to play the piano every day. I learned it because you only need one hand in the center position on the keyboard, and the notes were in numbers from 1-5. Look, I can still remember most of it! The sequence is 3-3-4-5-5-4-3-2-1-1-2-3-3-2-1-1! There is a little more but I don’t quite remember it. Oh well. Now everyone can play the beginning of the “Ode to Joy” or whatever song it may have been.) Really when it comes down to it, I am simply ignorant of music and just about everything that has anything to do with it.

BUT, I have decided I want to be musically cultured. To start this process, I have requested one of my friends to burn me a CD with music she likes on it (she said it would be difficult because she doesn’t know my music tastes. Clearly I can’t help her because neither do I. I know I don’t usually like rap or bands that scream a lot because they sound like monsters, but other than that I’m at a loss). I also listened to some songs for a while at one of my other friends and was able to get the names of a few bands. I used those names to set up some radio stations on Pandora.

The results? Well, I’m working on it but there has been some progress! So far I like Two Door Cinema Club, Mumford and Sons, Fleet Foxes, Regina Spektor, Foster the People, and Vampire Weekend. We’ll see if I end up with musical knowledge by the end of the summer. If any of you have any recommendations, I would love to hear them. Just type them out in a comment and I’ll check it out!

End of book spoiler quote: “And soon they were rolling on again, leaving Treegap behind, and as they went, the tinkling little melody of a music box drifted out behind them and was lost at last far down the road.” —Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

 

