What am I unprepared for? Well, our first track meet is tomorrow and I am going to fail…miserably. Not only is it against two big schools, but my team hasn’t even had a practice on a real track yet. Now for me, that’s not the biggest deal in the world, but it would have been nice to start getting used to an actual rubber track rather than the dirt circle at my school.

Not to mention the fact that I am not in shape. I have had about four good workouts in three weeks. Week 1–I was sick and missed two days of practice and didn’t run in the other three. Week 2–I was still sick and missed…every day I believe. Week 3–I recovered and practiced for two days  but then I went on a mission trip for the remainder of the week and focused on building four houses rather than running and keeping myself in shape. And now, in week 4 I find I am woefully unprepared for my events tomorrow.

On the bright side, I like the events I am doing. Those would be the 800m and the 4×8 relay…which, in case you don’t know, I happen to love. Well, wish me luck (you know, enough so that I don’t keel over dead out of my not-in-shapeness {yes, I know that isn’t a word}).

“No matter how many misfortunes had befallen them and no matter how many ersatz things they would encounter in the future, the Baudelaire orphans knew they could rely on each other for the rest of their lives, and this, at least, felt like the one thing in the world that was true.” —The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket

