This movie…was utterly fantastic. Despite the fact that my family was unsure of whether it was supposed to be a serious story or not, the movie was hysterical. To be fair I should point out that my brothers and I kept up a steady stream of commentary that only added entertainment to the already comical plot line.

Understand that the movie was created in 1996–a good year–and so the special effects are not the most prestigious, but once again that definitely added to the general quality of the movie. For example, at one point the main character was riding his horse and the horse began to prance in an awkward way and my younger brother became temporarily convinced that the horse was fake and was instead a costume with two men inside. My other brother and I instantly began to chortle and informed him that the effects were not quite that bad.

My advice: watch the movie and expect to mock every scene. And if you enjoy the actor Dennis Quaid even better for you (though I will warn you he growl-talks throughout the entire movie).

“Besides, it’s raining out there in Market Chipping.” —Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

P.S. I watched the theatrical trailer for The Dragonheart and it was most definitely intended to be taken seriously. For your enjoyment, here’s a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iRjSw-4qcgM

