We had a chapel at school today that was phenomenal! This guy named Brian Porzio came all the way from L.A. and urged my school to rekindle our fires for God. Not only was he funny, but he was sincere, eager, and hit depths of wisdom that I hadn’t expected. His entire talk basically covered about three main points: 1) That we were created to worship God, and if we are not worshipping him, we are worshipping something else. 2) In each and every one of us there is a fire that thirsts for God causing us to fill the gap by starting other fires that take our attention away from our Lord. 3) We need to acknowledge what are distracting fires and quench them in order to fully focus on God.

Now I know that doesn’t really show how extraordinary the sermon really was, but his words certainly spoke to a lot of people in that gym. He ended his message by asking us to stand if we knew we had other fires lit inside us that needed to be removed so we could fully focus on praising God and finding an intimate relationship with him, and almost everyone in the gym got to their feet. Clearly not all of the people who stood were sincere about standing, but I know I was and that is all that matters when looking at my relationship with my Father.

To top it all off, when I got in the car to go home, I played a Chris Tomlin song that fit perfectly with Brian’s message. The song is called No Chains on Me. The chorus and some of the second verse are:

Like a rolling stone, like a runaway train
No turning back, no more yesterdays
My heart is free, no chains on me
God, You raise me up, up from the grave
The cross before, I’m on my way
My heart is free, no chains on me

Now is the time, now is the time for freedom
Abandoned by cold religion, my heart on fire.

I heard those last lyrics and as I’m sure you can see, they are miraculously similar to Brian’s sermon.

“You’re welcome, my queen.” —The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner. (Everyone should read that series. I know I have only a couple hundred times! …That last part was a little exaggerated, but honestly not by much.)

