It’s almost that time of the year again: the time of year when insane authors try their hand at writing 50,000 words in a month; the time of year where you want to avoid all participants because they may scream random facts about their latest plot idea at you; and the time of year where if you see people trudging despondently around with bags under their eyes and laptops in hand, you know that they are doing NaNoWriMo.

Have I done this before? Nope…so just ignore the “again” in the first sentence of this blog. I’ve got to say, the general idea of it slightly terrifies me, and slightly exhilarates me. I want to be challenged though, and writing 50,000 words in one month seems like it fits the bill.

Unfortunately, I won’t be getting the full month to work on my creation. The reason for this is that I will be going to Cross Country State in the next week, and I know that if I write, I won’t sleep; if I don’t sleep, I won’t run well; and if I don’t run well, I’ll be very disappointed. Therefore, I am reduced to three weeks, meaning that I need to write at a pace of about five pages per day if I am to finish within the month.

Wish me luck and see ya!

P.S. Cross Country Regionals were earlier today. Our girls team pulled off a fun first place, with our five top runners in the top eight out of everyone running! Personally, I placed sixth, and was pretty happy with my performance.

