This past week has been…interesting. Last week, my school took all of us on a retreat, and while I was on that retreat a couple of things happened. First, I got sick because all of the people around me were sick and they were hacking all over me. Then I hit my head on another kid’s head because we were supposed to be building trust…clearly, that particular activity went over quite well. Finally, I got something in my eye while sitting on a rock, and couldn’t get it out. So I got to wear a trendy makeshift eyepatch for the rest of the night in hopes that whatever was in my eye would come out while I was sleeping. It didn’t. There was speculation that I may have scratched my cornea, and I had to go to Walgreens when we got back from retreat to buy a real eyepatch which I then had to wear for the rest of the weekend, and on Monday when we went back to school. Finally, I went to an eye doctor and found that while I didn’t scratch my cornea, I did get two pieces of cinder (ash) in my eye. The eye doctor removed the cinder and now my eye is fine.

My throat on the other hand is not. I’m still sick from retreat. This illness includes a sore throat, bad coughing, and other things that appear off and on. This wouldn’t bother me too much except for the fact that I run cross-country. Let me tell you, sickness and running do not mix. Running takes every problem and makes it 20x’s worse. Coincidentally, our first cross-country meet was yesterday, and I performed rather poorly. My sick time was an ugly 31:09, my normal times range around the 23 or 24 minute range. In other words, you shouldn’t attempt to run 2.9 miles when you are sick.

La revedere – Romanian

P.S. I hope you had a better week than I did!

