As I’m sure almost everyone knows, Osama Bin Laden is dead. When I first heard about it, I was sitting around during the intermission of a Steven Curtis Chapman concert, and happened to look up as the news flashed across the screen. It didn’t hit me then, but we got into the car after the concert and my parents started talking about it, and finally it sunk in. We got home and almost immediately turned the TV on so we could watch the news, and what I saw was a ton of people gathered in Time Square at 1:34 in the morning celebrating the news. My instant thoughts were about why were the people there and what in the world did they intend to accomplish? I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t feel comfortable celebrating his death.

What most people see is the terrorist who planned 9/11 is now a threat no longer, and they are passionate about how this man received justice for murdering so many. What I see is a nation and a people who revel in revenge. Don’t get me wrong, I am relieved that he is dead and no longer poses a threat, and I feel the same way when I realize that a man who slaughtered innocents is dead that most other people are feeling, but I didn’t and I still won’t celebrate his death. What I see is another lost person who made mistakes who is now going to suffer eternal punishment. God has told us to love our enemies, and I think it is safe to say that Osama was a symbol of our enemy, so shouldn’t we show him compassion and love him too?

I hope I have not offended any of you with my opinions, and if I have I apologize for the offense.

Agur, Basque.

